About

Just a small story

It began in my darkest time-- moving back in with the parents. My husband and I, on an attempt to start a new life as husband and wife, moved to Ohio in a busy little city. We got in way over our heads, and while trying to make something of ourselves, we realized we were just way too behind. My parents had just moved to a farm in Indiana, and had plenty of room, so they invited us to move back in with them while we saved up some money.

I instantly fell in love with being in the country. It wasn't my first time living in rural USA, I actually lived out in the country until I was 11 years old. I loved it. However, my father's job required him to move to a suburb, and for a long time, that was all I knew, and it shaped my teenager years. I had forgotten what it was like to live freely out in the sticks. My parents moved to Tennessee after a year of us being back, and we moved in with my sister and her fiancé and child so that we could all save up money before being truly on our own.

Fast forward two years, and now my husband and I, at age 24, are preparing ourselves to again move out on our own. We are anxious but READY. Not just ready to live on our own, but to begin a life in the country once again. That is one reason I started this blog-- to chronicle my journey into reconnecting with my roots, and hopefully inspire others who are trying to do the same.

Mentality wise, for awhile living in the suburbs and city made me a pretty liberal minded woman. However, as I now live a slower life, my opinions have majorly shifted, and I see the world in a whole different light. I have fallen in love with my heritages {Western European/West African/American/Celtic/Germanic} and am constantly on a search to learn more and embrace traditions. I have NEVER been this mentally and emotionally happy as I am now. A lot of soul searching has brought me to a place of contentment.

I cannot wait to share more with anyone who is willing to listen {or, um, read}.

A little about me

  • Name: Brittany
  • Occupation: Pharmacy Technician, Medication Therapy Manager
  • Married
  • Age: 24
  • Location: Midwest USA
  • Heritage/Ethnicity: Welsh, German, Scandinavian, English, French, West African,  African-American. Yes,  I am a Mutt.  No, I don't care if you hate it. No, I'm not tragic or confused.
  • Education: Pharmacy, Paralegal, Medication Therapy. Hoping to get a Veterinarian Technician/Assistant certification and Medical Assisting.
  • Music: Folk music and Rock music. The only rap artists I like are Eminem and Hopsin, sorry.
  • Movies: Horror, Comedy, Documentaries, Disney, and The Dark Knight Trilogy {I hate all other super hero movies, though}
  • Politics: I share a lot of Republican and Libertarian views, but do lean left on the occasional issue. No party gets it right 100% of the time, and I'm no blind follower
  • Religion: Agnostic Christian. As confusing as that sounds, as a Pastor's Granddaughter, you tend to grow up with some crazy experiences and a lot of questions. Always soul-searching.
Social Media:

No comments:

Post a Comment